The Team

The body subteam is responsible for many of the vehicle’s major subsystems including our carbon fiber chassis and aerodynamic shell, the steering, and the drivetrain. Recent projects have included designing and manufacturing a new rear frame, a redesigned engine mount, a new carbon fiber roll bar, and the steering mechanism. These projects decrease our vehicle’s weight and improve reliability, which helps to improve our fuel economy outcomes. Currently, the team is performing road load analysis to evaluate the addition of a continuously variable transmission (CVT) to our vehicle. The team has also been developing a new chassis dynamometer for testing and tuning our drivetrain.

The engine subteam tests the team’s engine by recording torque, horsepower and fuel consumption at our dynamometer to compare our modified engine to the original stock engine setup. This semester, the engine subteam’s main projects include tuning our reduced displacement with overhead cam engine oil system, dynamometer and engine integration, clutch cover, combustion analysis system cart, and a rear subframe redesign. All of these changes decrease our fuel consumption and thus increase our engine efficiency. The engine subteam is also currently working on altering drivetrain gear ratio to run at an optimal operating condition, engine thermal management, throttle setup, and fuel system configuration.

The electrical subteam works with all the electronics, batteries, sensors, and controls in the car. They handle the manufacturing, testing, and installation of the electrical components and systems that are needed in the team’s car. The electrical subteam also makes sure all SAE rules regarding electrical systems and batteries are followed. This semester the main focus for the electrical subteam has been integration of vehicle position tracking, vehicle harness updates, and the steering senior design.

Current Team Members – Spring 2021

Name:Email:Major:Sub-Team:
Aaron Jacobsenadjacobs@mtu.eduCpEElectrical
Brenden Lindgrenbjlindgr@mtu.eduMEEngine
Cas Mankowskicamankow@mtu.eduMEEngine
Chandler Vincentcgvincen@mtu.eduMEEngine
Charles Hazelcahazel@mtu.eduMEEngine
Jack Blockblock@mtu.eduMEEngine
Jacob Chizekjjchizek@mtu.eduMEEngine
Jacob Romangjsromang@mtu.eduEMBody
Jake Hoseyjchosey@mtu.eduMEElectrical
Jhenna Gamachejigamach@mtu.eduEEElectrical
Joey Tomeijftomei@mtu.eduMSEBody
Leif Olsonlcolson@mtu.eduMEBody
Luis Hernandez Moraleslhernan1@mtu.eduMEBody
Matt Sheeranmtsheera@mtu.eduMEEngine
Michaela Fungmcfung@mtu.eduMEBody
Mitchell VanOeffelenmdvanoef@mtu.eduMEEngine
Noah Simonenjsimone@mtu.eduMETEngine
Olivia Zinseroazinser@mtu.eduEEElectrical
Sean Smithseansmit@mtu.eduEEElectrical
Valerie Lynchvrlynch@mtu.eduMEBody
Weston Stromingwpstromi@mtu.eduMEEngine